Something Besides A Chocolate Bunny


Image

Easter is almost here and it’s time to fill baskets of goodies for your kids. Problem is now they’re gettling a little older and the bubble blow won’t excite them any longer. Maybe it’s your niece, nephew, friend, or grandkid and you don’t see them daily?  I received a call this morning from my mother in law asking for suggestions. That conversation sparked this post.

Here’s a few ideas for both girls and boys ages 9-13. I’ve heard these “I wants” first hand as I am constantly in ear shot of my daughter and her friends while they are hanging out at my house. Surprisingly, most are very simple and can easily make a great Easter basket treat.

Pattern Duck Tape: They use it to make bows, rings and bracelets. They add it to their skateboards for “better grip” and plain ole duct tape is not acceptable. I was asked to get zebra and pink camoflouge. Don’t be surprised if it is displayed at the toe of their basket ball shoes. Glow in the dark on converse shoes is funny…(oh and one of my neighbor boys made a cup holder for his bicycle out of neon green)

Why not a fish? Beta fish live with little care. There’s no big aquirium or equipment. Ours, Charlie, is happy as can be in his 1 gallon beta tank. He’ll be a year old soon. If you’re giving this as a gift, it’s nice to ask the parents first.

Here’s a few more ideas randomly selected for both boys and girls

glitter lotion, scented lotions and body wash, hair bows, a flat iron, skateboard, moon shoes, basketball, soccer ball, or ping pong set, bad mitton, football, itunes card, apple store gift card, gift certificate to for a favorite treat or game center, a kite, beach towels, tickets to the movies, magazines, nail polish, nail stickers, play tattoos, cell phone case, purse, earrings, baseball cap, flip flops, surf shirt, diary, fishing pole, sidewalk paint or chalk, graffic tshirt, notepads and pens, shell bead anklets or necklaces, finger paints, insulated water bottle, painted tumbler with their initial, mix matched sock, crazy straws, silly string.

Oh, they will still love the chocolate bunny, especially if he looks kind of quirky or has big ears.

Happy Easter.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

2 responses to “Something Besides A Chocolate Bunny”

  1. Melody says :

    This a great post! This definitely gives me a few ideas for my daughter who will be turning 11 yrs on friday and for my nieces and nephews as well.

    Please come by check us out and follow! :o)

    http://expressionsofadramatween.blogspot.com/

    • tweenspot says :


      Thank you so much! I am following your blog now and eager to read it. If you are on facebook, let’s connect there also. You can also find me on twitter, @tweenspot I have so much fun on twitter!

share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

