Summer Time is just around the corner


This week marks the last full week of school. My daughter is estatic of course. Mom, on the other hand, a little nervous. The connotation of summer means so many things to me. I have fond memories of our summer vacations when I was a kid. Mom and dad would take time off work every year for that family vacation. As we grew older, that family vacation became out of town or out of state softball tournaments. Some of my family’s best friends to date were met during the years of softball. My sister and I probably share completely different memories of those trips. She was playing, and I was watching most of the time. My team never made it far. But still fond memories just the same. When we weren’t playing ball or on a family vacation, we did all the things kids do during summer. My favorite, the neighborhhood YMCA pool everyday! with our friends. We had a neighborhood park and we rode many miles around and around the block on bikes. In the evenings we’d stay out late w our pals because we didn’t have much to worry about and nothing else to do. There was a goal at our house to see whoever woke up first in the mornings, got the remote. A constant battle for the only tv we had. We played videos at the arcade, had lemonade stands, built forts out of boxes, and when MTV came along we spend A LOT of time watching music videos and learning to moonwalk with Michael Jackson’s thriller. I am sure we had plenty of days we complained about being bored, but I really don’t remember them. That’s why summer is making me a little nervous. I am not home everyday with my kids. Neither are most moms in the neighborhood. So that means when your kids are home, their friends usually aren’t. Working from home (which my career allows easily) is impossible when you hear “mom, I’m bored” or they fight all day! It seems these days you either take the time (and spend plenty of $) to go somewhere everyday or your kids are enrolled in camp. Moms aren’t home and kids can’t just play freely. If not camp, there’s a thousand other things for them to sign up for. Don’t get me wrong, I think organized fun is great. I just wish it was only necessary in smaller doses. I believe a kid should be able to use their imagination, and that includes not always on a time clock to go to bed and get up. Do I hire a nanny!? Now that’s scarier than anything else I worry about. There wiil be no stranger in my home, alone with my kids. I think the concept is IDEAL, but it would have to be someone I know VERY, VERY well. I always worry about this at summer break and it always works out for us in the end. I have been doing some research on fun, inexpensive things for kids to do and go see. If you are a working mom like me—-wait! Let me rephrase that! I hate that term. Have you ever met a “non-working mom”? Yea, me either!!! Who ever coined that phrase wasn’t a mom! So shall I say, if you are like me and have an outside source demanding your time—stay tuned– I will be posting things I find and places we go. I am in search of the balance between work and home. My career is a chosen must, and my kids are a chosen want! Sound familiar? I now completely understand all the things I ever heard my mom say to another adult!

Tags: , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

share your thoughts!

