A day in the life of a working mom


Summertime not only means kids out of school, it also means no school bus stops or school zones for an already late to an appointment mom. This morning started of typical..what to wear? Where is my briefcase? My keys? Then kids up–they don’t want cereal for breakfast, the oldest wants to stay home and play and not go to her grandmas house, the little one wants apple juice not orange juice. Finally we are dressed, ready, willing and able! I drop them off at their nana’s house and off I go. Its 8:30am and when someone says good morning I think to myself–‘morning? Shouldn’t half the day be over already?’ At noon I get a call ‘can I go swimming with my friend? Her mom will pick me up here’. Sure- that’ll be fun and give nana a break. An hour later–“uh, mom? Its storming and the pool is closed. When are you coming to get me? I’m bored”. Ok! That’s a good sign you need to go help someone else do something. Off the phone and back to my project. Clients calling and everyone needs it NOW! Somewhere in the middle my husband calls ‘hey. What are you doing today?’ My response after a large sigh “nothing. Just working” “yea, me too” he says “what are we gonna eat for dinner? I am hungry for shrimp”. My mind races…a trip to the seafood market, before I pick up both girls ON TIME (now at different locations), all the traffic jams in the rain, and home to cook shrimp and stink up the kitchen!? “ok” is all I have the energy to muster. So I asked for it! I should have said “are you out of your mind?? NO way!”. I wrap up what has to be done at the office..leaving a list a mile long of additional work I can finish from home this evening. Did call hubby back and tell him to go to the market–now he doesn’t want to go so we’ll just eat something else. Funny how that works, isn’t it? Hahaha-he doesn’t want to drive across town to the market!! Aaww! Everyone is picked up, the little one has not had a nap and is really fussy. The oldest one has plans of her own. All including mom driving her and picking her up. When she’s told no–she’s furious with me and talks herself into big trouble! We’re all home now. I have a client calling me at a scheduled time this evening an I just hoping the little one is a little more quiet when he does :). At last, when the work day is finally over I can get dinner going, get a load of laundry in, feed the dog, and hopefully get the kids down for bed on time. That will give me a couple of hours to finish up some paperwork to get ahead tomorrow. A day in the life of a working mom!? You bet!!

Tags: , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

One response to “A day in the life of a working mom”

  1. Paige says :

    Funny! For many of us, this is a way of life. I have 3 boys, and my life is a 3 ring circus without working outside the home.

share your thoughts!

