Mom’s can get black eyes too!


We played hard this weekend. Hard enough I’m sporting a black eye to prove it.
We were at my sisters’ house swimming and of course, I was playing around with the kids. My daughter and her friend, ages 8 and 10, are having a great time horseplaying with mom. ( I know, I know…. pool rule #1) I don’t know WHAT I was doing, obviously not paying attention, but all of a sudden—-SMACK! A huge shamu torpedo is airborne and caught only by my left eye.
Gosh, I forgot how bad that hurt. I was little when I got the only other black eye I’ve ever had. I saw stars. The whole time thinking, I have to get out of here so my kids don’t see me CRY! Thank goodness my sister and brother-n-law were in the water too. One took the little one, the other helped me out. My eye is black by the time I got into the house.
Sooo… what do you do for a black eye? Ice pack and a good cold diet coke! I set out an hour and then home we went. My daughter is telling me she’s sorry and really worried about my eye. Testimonial here to all moms….that’s a sure-fire way to get your kid to do anything you ask on the first call for the rest of the weekend!!
Nonetheless, we got home safely. I started looking online for ways to get rid of this before Monday. Guess what? you can’t….so I will be sporting a really interesting conversation piece this week. Looking at my schedule, I’ll be meeting 2 new clients and have an office meeting as well. That should prove interesting!
The girls and I have another adventure story to tell, never a dull moment here !

Tags: , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

share your thoughts!

