Chasing Crazy Dreams…or are they crazy at all?


My little girl heard a commercial on the radio recently. “Kids, do you want to be on tv?” That was all it took for the begging to begin, “mom, PLEASE take me there!!”. For a moment I thought of all the reasons why not, then suddenly it hit me “there really is NO reason why she can’t”. As her parent, I am always preaching to her that she can do anything she sets her mind to, she’s just as good and important as anyone else. So on this day, the lesson came to practice what I preach. I hesitantly picked up the phone and called, within minutes we had an appointment Saturday morning. She was so excited she was crying in my car. I will never forget her next words “Oh my gosh, I so can’t believe you called for me!! I thought you’d tell me a hundred ways I couldn’t go”. With tears in my eyes, I proudly told her, (as if I hadn’t initially thought why not) that there was no reason why she should not have that opportunity if that is what she wants to do. For me, it was a lesson in her confidence and self-esteem. To tell a child that they can become anything is one thing, to show them is something else. I knew from that very moment in the car that she would remember this for the rest of her life! I felt like I had accomplished something as her mom, by just telling her we’d go, I had given her a different perspective on what she thought her limits are.
We went to that audition early the next day. I was so proud of her. To me it was not whether or not she made it, it was the fact that she was all dressed in her Sunday Best, ready to give something she wanted her best shot! And silently it was a proud moment as her mom that I was showing her that I loved her and believed she could do anything!
Being on TV has been something she has wanted to do and talked about for years. And at her age, that’s more than 1/2 of her life already 🙂 I never cared if she made it, I did care that she knew I was supporting her. She didn’t make it, but she learned alot. She and I both learned a valuable lesson in confidence and self-esteem. Do I think she’ll keep trying? absolutely!! I also think from now on when there’s something she is doubting whether or not she can do it, she’ll remember that experience, and will doubt herself less and less. It taught me that not all things kids want to do are crazy dreams or “for someone else”, it taught me that we can go out and experience new things, exhilarate ourselves through others, and all the way boost the confidence and self-esteem of our kids. My goal as her and her sister’s mom is to someday produce to the world 2 healthy, vibrant and confident kids. That day we got one step closer.
If she wants to try a thousand more times, I’ll take her. If she changes her mind and never wants to do it again, I know she’ll have a better understanding of herself and her ability to take with her on any new adventure.
And if someday she packs a bag and heads to Hollywood with only a handful of dollars, I won’t be a bit surprised!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

share your thoughts!

