STOP! and smell the roses (reprogamming me!)


courtesy of @AMYDPHOTOS

“Live life fully while you’re here. Experience everything. Take care of yourself and your friends. Have fun, be crazy, be weird. Go out and screw up! You’re going to anyway, so you might as well enjoy the process. Take the opportunity to learn from your mistakes: find the cause of your problem and eliminate it. Don’t try to be perfect; just be an excellent example of being human.”
— Anthony Robbins

Hear that? it’s OK to screw up sometimes!

Sometimes, I get so busy(or frustrated) in the chaos of family, home, career life balance I forget to stop and enjoy the experience. This quote hit home today. I run around wanting a perfect world. Reading this made me realize why my mom enjoys her grandkids–she’s been there, done that! As executive mom around here, I often find that I am wanting a spotless house, kids that don’t argue with each other, to follow a routine and simpleness. How realistic is that? Truth is if I would let go of some of the anxiety and stress that I create expecting an adult world in a house full of kids, I just may have the simpleness I’m wanting.
 Many nights, I have read social media posts on facebook and twitter and realized I am not alone in my crazy world of mommyhood. Still there’s conflict. Conflict by definition is the difference in what you want vs what you have! I have come to the conclusion that although I am not alone in this quest, I may be alone in the self-induced pressure I put on myself to make everything perfect. Maybe I should let the clothes go unfolded and read the article I’m curious about, get take out dinner and sit on the patio, or allow myself to hire a sitter and enjoy a day out on occassion. If I go to the office or have an appt, my kids are well placed (and that’s daily) but I never have allowed myself a day where I get a sitter and go shopping or have a quick pedicure, or just sit and read a book or watch a movie. They are intow with me everywhere. Often they don’t want to be going, so we have more conflict.
 An image of the hampster spinning relentlessly in the wheel coming to mind? it should! Ever hear of the “do-er”. That’s a person who runs around doing a million things half-assed. That has become me. Everynight I fall asleep exhausted, with a list of things not done yet. In my mission to please everyone around me and make all things perfect, I have exhausted myself .
Today starts a new journey for me, a journey to get out of this spinning wheel. To set boundaries and gain respect at home the same as I do at work, and to understand that I can not do it all in a 24 hour period of time. A Journey to recharge MY BATTERIES!  Maybe I can hire some help around here, or engage someone to help me get it done. My journey will be a long one, I don’t easily give up control…and I live by the motto of do-it-yourself! Like so many moms, I want the best for all of us! My girls are my life! We do have alot of fun together. Usually I begin my list of chores after work and after my time with them. I’m not expecting to give any of that up because I would never want to. BUT, if I took the pressure off me to do all things for everyone, I might enjoy more.
I am now beginning a 90 day trial period. A time to reprogram me. It should be fun, entertaining, and an amazing discovery period all at once. I also, in my new mindset, expect a little confusion, chaos and untidy rooms!
Take time to smell the roses! An old cliche that has never rang more true!!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

share your thoughts!

