Rush Week


There was a time in my life when “rush week”meant extensive partying, shopping for the perfect outfit, and showing up to class in my PJs. Not anymore! Let me assure you, RUSH WEEK has a whole new meaning around here now.

School starts in 5 days, my oldest daughter is being baptised on Sunday (yes, the whole family is coming), dance and karate registration for the girls. Supplies, clothes and grocery shopping to do. My regular job takes a little time also. Yes,  We’ve got a million things to do..none of which, that I am currently aware of anyway, requires me to go in togas! Thankfully.

First, there’s school supplies. Come’on?! Does my kid really need 4 packages of construction paper, 3 pair of scissors and 36 pencils…along with copy paper and 12 glue sticks?!! I’m all about helping those less fortunate, but honestly, if you guys at the school would tell me the truth I wouldn’t be so insane. I would give you more than this! I swear!!! Trouble is as I have bought a little here and there, the things I forgot are really hard to find right now. I can’t make another trip to wally-world…I just can’t!!  Let’s not forget the perfect binder…just like everyone else has, that is also a purebred to find. Yes, I admit, there’s some procrastination going on here. That always makes my life more exciting so I guess I’m addicted to it.

Next, we have my oldest being baptised this Sunday. The whole family on both sides, has been invited and will be here Sunday (well, not all, but all who counts!) so there’s a list of a billion things to get done, make and do, all by itself. I’m very excited about this and want everything to be perfect for her. Cake ordered, planning what to eat, what to give her, making sure everyone can come so kids can all play that afternoon. It’s 100+ degrees so throwing a bunch of kids outside isn’t going to work well. My house my get a little wild with all the cousins, but hey, that’s half the fun!

Speaking of house?!?! ugh! I’ve got company coming…need I say more?

So you see, Rush week isn’t the same as it used to be. Work, shop, cook dinner, eat, clean, clean again, do some laundry, go to the store, argue with the one who hates to shop that she must try it on, shoes for dance, the cat to the vet, order the cake, pack up supplies, meet the teacher, the  dress for baptism, preschool registration & meet her teacher, and something to say “goodbye” to summer. Maybe an ice cream sundae party with their neighborhood friends friday evening!?!? Not a have to, but sure would be fun!

I sound like I’m complaining…honestly, it’s meant to be funny. These are the best days of my life, someday I will miss ALL of this madness, I’m sure. I wouldn’t change a thing, well…ok just one…I would have looked at the calendar before agreeing to the baptism date, we could’ve done that sooner so everything wasn’t in ONE week, but again…I guess I like my chaotic life— I tend to keep creating more of it…

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

share your thoughts!

