Halloween on a Budget.


Halloween fun you can decorate or make quickly. Won’t blow your budget and Kid friendly too.

1) Paper Mache Pumpkins:

a balloon, strips of newspaper, flour,  cold water, orange paint, paint to decorate (or pipe cleaners, foam, markers, whatever you want on it)

Mix flour and cold water ( not too thick, not to thin…a nice glue is all you need)
blow up balloon
Dip newspaper strips in flour mixture, wrap around balloon
let sit a few minutes between layers
after 4 or 5 layers. Let dry ( this will take a few days to be dry and hard. I sit them out and turn once in a while)
once dry, paint and decorate
*we’ll make the paper mache part Saturday and then Friday evening, I will let them all paint. Works great for kids)

2) Halloween centerpiece ( From Sandra Lee)
sticks and twigs from yard, black spray paint, vase, spider webs, halloween novelties likes bat or spider rings)
Gather sticks, spray w black paint and let dry
after sticks are dry put them sparingly in a vase,
drape a little of the “web” around sticks
hang spiders or bats in web
add 2 or 3 white carnations
viola! you have the “bouquet of death for your halloween” centerpiece–This is a huge hit, Friends and neighbors loved it at my halloween party last year!
*my kids also put 2 rubber worms down in the water, (from dad’s tackle box), added  a little flare they liked*
You can also make a wreath like this. Just buy a straw or grapevine wreath and spray paint black.

3) Cheap finds at the dollar store
we found glow in the dark skeletons, pkg of 6 for a $1.00 (string with fishing line for a cute garland)
purple lights ($3.50)
Caution, this is house is haunted, or Beware streamer (1.00 ea)

For less than $10.00, I have my schrubs trimmed in purple lights, glowing skeletons hanging and Caution tape on porch banisters. Not too much light, not over decorated. Kids did this themselves and are quite proud!

4) Homemade Peanut Butter Cookies (from Allrecipes.com)
1 egg
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 Cup peanut butter

Mix together and bake til golden brown. Let stand on cookie sheet or they will fall apart. Delish!! We used chunky peanut butter

5) Carmel Apples
2 pkgs wrapped carmels
6 Tbsp water
*this will make 1 doz med sized apples*
apples
woodsticks

unwrap carmels, add water and put in crock pot. Watch and stir as needed so it doesn’t burn. when smooth, stick each apple with a wooden stick (I got 100 sticks @ hobby lobby for $3).
Give each kid an apple and let them dip in carmel.
Dip in nuts or sprinkles for added fun
Place on buttered foil to dry.
who doesn’t love carmel apples?  This treat is loved by everyone! make a few extras and give to your neighbors!!

Hope you enjoy these 4 quick and simple things to make your Halloween fun. I love Halloween, it’s such an easy time. Holiday without the stress, weather is just right to be outside!  The kids and I spend alot of time making little projects and playing.  We’ll be busy bees tomorrow. Saturday with fun things to do! they are already looking forward to it. (remember my last post? well, they’ve vowed to clean up their rooms  again!)

wow! I know when they get a little older, I’m going to miss this.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

4 responses to “Halloween on a Budget.”

  1. underestimatedmom says :

    These are great ideas!! Especially because I’m always on a budget 😉 I’m definitely going to be using a few of these!

  2. Markus Utecht says :

    I discovered your blog web site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the excellent operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Searching for ahead to reading extra from you afterward!?

  3. Manuel Youngkin says :

    Helpful stuff and extremely informative. Thanks for taking the time to write it and post it!

share your thoughts!

