Tiny little boxes, A Whole Lot of Love!


Operation christmas child is a charity I honestly haven’t heard of until this year. Omg! I can’t believe I’ve missed this. What an amazing thing for kids to be involved in.

I have always passionately tried to make my kids understand giving to others. It all started when my oldest was 2 and I was cleaning out her closet. Suddenly every toy and old shirt was her favorite. At that time I was a new mom, and for the first time realized “she doesn’t have a clue what I’m doing, I need to make this easy while teaching her. This is MY responsiblity”. The best I could come up was to tell her that we were giving her things to “another little girl who doesn’t have anything”. Long story short, after a brief talk she was throwing her socks in the bag to give away!
That day marked the start of something we do often together. Now that I have the little one, she’s involved too. On any given day, those 2 girls will still say they are “giving it to another little girl” and help me fill a bag or two. It’s brought me to tears more than once.

Operation Christmas Child was the perfect way to get them involved, stay on their level, save on my budget, and let them be in control of it. This was introduced to me through their youth group at church. As soon as I heard about it, I grabbed 3 boxes and out the door we went. One for L, one for T,  and one for their friend A who goes to youth group with them. The oldest 2 kids purchased a couple of things for their boxes with points they had earned at church. The little one was given a set of markers by her teacher. The rest was up to us!

Last night we filled these boxes and had so much fun. I told them both again “this will go to another little boy or girl all over the world”.   We found so many things and I filled all three boxes for $25.00. Crayons, stuffed toy, playing cards, games, writing pads, jacks, balls, a teddy bear, book, tops, glow sticks, flip flops, socks,lip gloss, ring, plastic bendable animals,  the list just goes on.(I highly recommend Dollar General or Walmart if you’re going to do this). We even found hats and 2 pack of cute gloves for $1 each.  I can’t stand the thought of any child being cold. That must come from my mother, who did the same things with us growing up. Mom always bought pajamas, warm socks, hat and gloves. We donated old coats and blankets (which by the way, I have some I am taking the homeless shelter tomorrow)..Thanks mom for teaching me that!!

Our boxes were packed up within 15 mins of being home. The kids were so proud of themselves. Of course, I was beaming with pride for both of them. Tonight they will deliver their boxes and I think we can even track them later on. How exciting!

You see, these boxes are filled with a whole lot of love! My kids love for “the other little boy or girl” and my love for my kids.

Learn more about Operation Christmas Child at www.samaritanspurse.org

 
Tweenspot is now on Facebook, come join me:  http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003056493531&ref=tn_tinyman

or Find Tweenspot on Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/tweenspot

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

2 responses to “Tiny little boxes, A Whole Lot of Love!”

  1. thesilentsoul says :

    Great to see that Operation Christmas Child is continuing to gather new supporters! It’s so much fun filling those boxes! 🙂

  2. tweenspot says :

    I think it’s wonderful and it was fun to fill.

share your thoughts!

