20 Things I’m Thankful for


I have alot to be Thankful for, and I am of course very thankful for the things I always write about: My family, friends, our health, my kids, their health, and all the things I have in my life that complete me.I make an effort to be thankful for these things all year. But this year as I was thinking of the Thanksgiving holiday, a few more things came to mind. Here’s a list of 20 things I’m thankful for that often are taken for granted.

  1. My attitude: Having an attitude of the glass is always 1/2 full helps me face shortcomings with determination and see opportunities I would miss if I was feeling sorry for myself.
  2. Social Media: I’ve been able to reconnect with “lost” friends and loved ones AND meet people I would otherwise never know.
  3. My friendship with my sister: I’m so lucky to call her my best friend. I have friends who don’t speak to their sister, unimaginable to me!
  4. My true friends: A select close group who tell me straight up. No fog and mirrors, they see right through that and will call me out on a spur of the moment.
  5. People who inspire me: I love having a conversation and walking away feeling inspired.
  6. People who intrigue my mind: Nothing is worse than not being challenged.
  7. Frienemies: yes, even the worst of fake friends have taught me something! If nothing else, they force out the best in me to try to stay ahead of their next stab.
  8. Computers and networks: WOW! Life is so much easier and creativity is so simple now!
  9. A good bottle of wine: pure indulgence
  10. Mentors: These are people who have inspired, motivated, and even made me mad at times. But none the less, they have all brought something of value to my life and career.
  11. My childhood: my parents were awesome! they took part in everything we did. Hindsight is 20/20 I learned so much watching them.
  12. Our American Military: (need I say more) They have sacrificed the ultimate for our freedom. Without them I may not be able to write this….
  13. Smartphones: I can’t imagine how my mom kept it all together without an app to make it easy for her.
  14. People who told me No: If they had said yes all the time, I may not be as determined to find a way.
  15. College: I never really thought about much in school except memorizing the answers until I went to college. I remember the challenge of figuring it out and thinking it through for myself first being introduced to me in college.
  16. A good journalist: few and far between these days, in my opinion, but a really good journalist that tells the truth and pushes limits is indispensible.
  17. Seasons: Everytime I get bored and stale, the seasons change. With each new season is a new spirit, new traditions and new things to celebrate.
  18. My pets: unconditional love and an ear without saying a word.
  19. A good book: I use books to teach myself new things, escape or travel without ever leaving home.
  20. Memories: My life is a great big reflection of memories. Almost everything I encounter reminds me of someone or something. I have lost loved ones who I hold many memories of and those memories inspire, challenge, and bring me peace.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About tweenspot

I am like so many moms raising young girls, scared I'm doing the right thing and learning with pure amazement at the same time! I feel like I have become my mother (don't we all)..my favorite phrase is "today things are so different than when I/we grew up". The absolute hysteria in that phrase scares me too. I don't want to be scared. I like to think that as a professional, working, college educated women that I can embrace the world we live in. That's why I have been researching Tweens, what they like, do, what's hot and what's trends are going to cost me a fortune in the future! My little girls are the love of my life. By creating this blog, I want a safe internet place for girls and moms to share. This blog is in the infancy stage, but I have big plans for it. So stay tuned.... Read, enjoy, comment. Visit as often as you'd like. I hope together we can build a community for girls and moms to explore, learn and share with one another.

3 responses to “20 Things I’m Thankful for”

  1. wine scam says :

    Good blog! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  2. diana hampo says :

    A good book, we are not thankful for those enough. thanks for reminding me.

  3. wealth without risk says :

    Hello there I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

share your thoughts!

